Certification

The following information is for The Colorado Association of Animal Control Officers ceritification test. The certification test is given twice a year during the Spring Training Conference and again, at the Fall Training Conference.

You must have the following requirements to take the Certification Test.

 

  •   Have a high school diploma or GED.

  •   You must be currently employed by an animal control/care agency
      or facility within the State of Colorado.

  •   Have at least six months experience in animal control/humane work.

  •   On Department Letterhead and signed by an immediate supervisor - Bring
      proof of the successful completion of a minimum of 30 hours of formal
      training in animal control/humane officer related topics that has been
      successfully completed within the last two years. In lieu of 30 hours of
      formal training, you may substitute or intermix (1) year of on the job
      experience for (5) hours of training.

  •   Example: 25 hours of training and 1 year of on the job training=30 hours
      Or 6 years of on the job experience and no formal training=30 hours

  •   Submit a pre-paid fee of $35.00

 

If you do not meet all of the above requirements, you will not be allowed to take the test. Upon successful completion of testing, a certificate will be mailed to the applicant.

PRE-REQUIREMENTS

1

Recertifications 
  • Breed Identification

  • State Laws

  • Search and Seizure Law

  • Amendments : 4th, 6th, and 14th

  • Courtroom Behavior

  • Investigation

  • Canine Behavior

  • Small and Large Animal Capture & Restraint

  • Chemical Capture

  • Euthanasia

  • Zoonoses

  • Sanitation

  • Vehicles & Equipment

  • Report Writing & Record Keeping

  • Animal First Aid

  • Dog Fighting

  • Disaster Planning

  • PAFCA – Pet Animal & Care Facility Act

AREAS OF STUDY

2

Need to study for the test?

Access the Members Only page

to obtain the Study Guide

  •  NACA Training Guide - obtained through NACA

  •  PACFA Rules & Regulations – obtained through the Dept of Agriculture

  •  Rabies Prevention & Control Policy – obtained through the Colorado Dept.
     of Health

  •  AKC – The Complete Dog Book - obtained through local bookstore

  •  C.R.S. : Colorado Peace Officer Handbook - obtained through a police
      equipment supply store

  •  Illegal Animal Fighting – obtain through HSUS

  •  Simon & Schuster’s Guide to Dogs - obtained through local bookstore

 

  •   FEMA Courses:

  •   IS-10 Animals in Disasters Module A

  •   IS-11 Animals in Disasters Module B

  •   IS-100.a Introduction to Incident Command System, ICS-100

  •   All are accessible online at: http://training.fema.gov/IS/crslist.asp


NACA Training Guides are available for $35.00 each for those of you preparing to take the Colorado State ACO Certification test, order direct from NACA.

Please contact the CAACO President (e-mail) or Secretary (e-mail) for any additional study resources for the certification test.

 

 

SOURCES - CERTIFICATION TEST

3

      RECERTIFICATION 

4

  1. Must be currently employed as an animal control/management/welfare investigator or officer who is responsible for the enforcement of animal laws, ordinances, regulations, or State Statutes and is a bona fide employee of and receives a salary from a National, State, County or Municipal government, a political subdivision thereof, or are contracted or has a formal agreement with an agency to provide animal control/management/welfare enforcement services for a governmental entity within the State of Colorado.
     

  2. Must submit on department letterhead the requirement of twenty hours of continuing education related to the field of Animal Control/Welfare for the past two years. The officer’s immediate supervisor must sign letter.
     

  3. Must submit a renewal fee. Set by an agreement between the Colorado Department of Agriculture and the Association.
     

If renewal qualifications are not met within the 60 (sixty) days following expiration of an officer’s State Certification, they will be required to re-take the State Certification exam.